Monday, November 12, 2007

Rank Structure and Uniform Insignia

Rank Structure and Uniform Insignia

Pakistani Officer Ranks
Rank Field Marshal (5-Star) General (4-Star) Lieutenant General (3-Star) Major General (2-Star) Brigadier (1-Star) Colonel Lieutenant Colonel Major Captain Lieutenant 2nd Lieutenant
NATO equivalent OF-10 OF-9 OF-8 OF-7 OF-6 OF-5 OF-4 OF-3 OF-2 OF-1 OF-1
Uniform insignia

Pakistani Junior Commissioned Officer (JCO) and Enlisted Ranks
Rank Subedar Major (JCO) Subedar (JCO) Naib Subedar (JCO) Battalion Havildar Major Battalion Quartermaster Havildar Company Havildar Major Company Quatermaster Havildar Havildar Naik Lance Naik Jawan
NATO equivalent None None None OR-9 OR-8 OR-8 OR-7 OR-5/6 OR-4 OR-3 OR-1/2
Uniform insignia

No Insignia


The Nishan-e-Haider (Urdu: نشان حیدر) (Sign of the Lion), is the highest military award given by Pakistan.

Recipients Nishan-e-Haider recipients receive an honorary title as a sign of respect: Shaheed meaning martyr for deceased recipients and Ghazi meaning victor for living recipients.

  1. Captain Muhammad Sarwar Shaheed (1910–July 27, 1948)
  2. Major Tufail Muhammad Shaheed (1914–August 7, 1958)
  3. Major Raja Aziz Bhatti Shaheed (1928–September 10, 1965)
  4. Major Muhammad Akram Shaheed (1938–1971)
  5. Pilot Officer Rashid Minhas Shaheed(Air Force) (1951–August 20, 1971)
  6. Major Shabbir Sharif Shaheed (1943–December 6, 1971)
  7. Jawan Sowar Muhammad Hussain Shaheed (1949–December 10, 1971)
  8. Lance Naik Muhammad Mahfuz Shaheed (1944–December 17, 1971)
  9. Captain Karnal Sher Khan Shaheed (1970–July 5, 1999)
  10. Lalak Jan Shaheed (1967–July 7, 1999)

Special Forces

Main article: Special Services Group

The Special Service Group (SSG) is an independent commando division of the Pakistan Army. It is an elite special operations force similar to the British Special Air Service and the United States Army Special Forces (Green Berets). Official numbers are put between 2,500 to 3,000; however the actual strength is classified. It is estimated to have been increased to 4 Battalions, with the eventual formation of 2 Brigades of Special Forces (6 Battalions).

No comments:

Free Juwlery Click to Claim

WidgetBucks - Trend Watch -